Category: Uncategorised


The City of Hull Academy shrugged off a dogged effort from visitors Wakefield Trinity to claim the two competition points in the Academy Under 19’s Championship on Saturday 9 March 2019 at Bishop Burton College.

The blustery conditions caused havoc especially in the first half with Wakefield contributing the opening couple of tries midway through the first half to open up a ten point lead.

Home hooker Charlie Cavanaugh reduced the arrears on the half hour mark when he skipped over from close to the line out of dummy half and right winger Charlie Graham pounced just before the break in the corner to make it 8-10. The conversion attempts from Connor Wynne and then Cameron Scott were both off the mark.

The second half was dominated by the City of Hull Academy who had the strong wind at their back. Second row forward Charlie Patterson – Lund went over for two tries and front row forward Jack Brown also crossed showing some brute force in between his team mates brace. Full back Connor Wynne added a couple of conversions with Cameron Scott, being off the mark with his solitary effort in the second half.

At 24-10 the game was won however credit to Wakefield who were rewarded for their third try of the game in the closing stages to cut the deficit to 24-14.

The City of Hull Academy are next in action against Newcastle Thunder in the Academy Under 19’s Championship on Sunday 17 March 2019 at Bishop Burton College – Kick Off 12.00pm.

City of Hull Academy:

Connor Wynne, Charlie Graham, Cameron Scott, Will Tate, Josh Atkinson, Harrison Morrow, Jordan Webster, Jack Brown, Charlie Cavanaugh, Callum Stark, Charlie Patterson – Lund, Jack Bartlett, Ben Ellis, George Cooke, Ewan Badham, Kai Tyson, Matthew Smith

Tries: Charlie Cavanaugh, Charlie Graham, Charlie Patterson-Lund 2, Jack Brown

Goals: Connor Wynne 2/3, Cameron Scott 0/2

Wakefield Trinity:

Robbie Butterworth, Harrison Burrows, Jack Croft, Oliver Greensmith, Nico Devittoris, Tom Ashen, Owen Hughes, Yusuf Aydin, Daniel Barcoe, Jacob Jones, Dane Windrow, Harry Dodd, Connor Bailey, Lewis Teale, Moris Kamano, Jordan Schofield, James Patrikson

Match Officials:

Referee – Mr G Houston, Touch Judge – Mr B Aldridge, Touch Judge – Mr M Clayton

Back To Latest News +