Rovers Set A New Record At Wakefield

Category: Heritage

Rovers Set A New Record At Wakefield

On this day ….. 2 June

Eighteen years ago today, on 2 June 2002, Rovers lost 46-40 in a Northern Ford Premiership match at Featherstone. It was the first time that they had ever scored 40 points and lost (it has happened once since, 48-42 at London in the last match of the 2013 season). Rovers led 28-24 at half-time at Post Office Road that day, their first match since the National Cup final defeat to Huddersfield. It was Rovers third visit to Featherstone in four months, and they had won the previous two, in the Challenge Cup and the National Cup.


Four years ago today, on 2 June 2016, Rovers recorded their biggest ever win over Wakefield Trinity. It was a Thursday evening Super League game on a sunny evening in the West Riding. Both teams were coached by former coaches of the opposition, Chris Chester for the Wildcats and James Webster for Rovers. Kieran Dixon, a late call-up for the injured Joe Wardill, took full advantage of the opportunity to score three tries. Terry Campese, back in the side for only his third appearance of the season, was an influential figure, orchestrating most of Rovers best work.

Rovers raced into a 20-0 lead in as many minutes through tries from Dixon, Albert Kelly, James Greenwood and Shaun Lunt – the latter scoring the 150th try of his career. Wakefield came back in the second quarter with tries by Tupou and Michael Sio, but, with a James Green try sandwiched between the two, it was 26-10 to the Robins at half-time.

Wakefield narrowed the gap to ten points when Craig Hall scored six minutes into the second half, but Rovers responded immediately, Dixon scoring twice in quick succession to complete his hat-trick. The Robins then put the game to bed as Greenwood went over for a second, Kelly ran 70 yards for a brilliant individual effort, and Maurice Blair, making his 50th appearance for Rovers, took advantage of a brilliant kick from Terry Campese.

Rovers team that night was – Matty Marsh: Ken Sio, Chris Clarkson, Iain Thornley, Kieran Dixon; Terry Campese, Albert Kelly; Dane Tilse, Shaun Lunt, Adam Walker, Maurice Blair, James Greenwood, Robbie Mulhern.  Bench: James Green, Mitch Allgood, James Donaldson, John Boudebza.

Back To Latest News +