Rovers News

On The Pitch

Rovers quartet receive Scotland call-up

Hull Kingston Rovers quartet Danny Addy, Ben Kavanagh, Kieran Moran and Will Oakes have all been named in Scotland’s provisional squad for the Rugby League World Cup 2017, which takes place Down Under this autumn.

Head coach Steve McCormack has stuck with his tried and trusted Bravehearts who took Scotland to the quarter-finals in 2013, won the 2014 European Championship and drew with then world-number one nation New Zealand last November.

The pool includes 22 of those in the Scotland squad at the Four Nations last year, with NRL stars Lachlan Coote, Kane Linnett and Euan Aitken named, while Peter Wallace and Joe Wardle, who missed the Four Nations through injury, are back to take the NRL contingent to five.

The Bravehearts have been drawn in Pool B of this year’s Rugby League World Cup and will play New Zealand, Samoa and Tonga during the pool stages, with the top three teams progressing to the Quarter-Finals.

McCormack said: “I’ve said to the players: selection will be based on performances. It doesn’t matter whether you are in the NRL, Super League or bottom of the Championship. I know a lot about these players, know I can trust them and just hope they can perform over these next seven or eight weeks and get on that plane.”

Scotland Squad
Danny Addy – Hull KR (14 Tests)
Euan Aitken – St George Illawarra Dragons (3)
Ryan Brierley – Toronto Wolfpack (2)
Sam Brooks – Featherstone Rovers (3)
Danny Brough – Huddersfield Giants (23)
Brett Carter – Barrow Raiders (6)
Lewis Clarke – Moore Park Broncos (2)
Lachlan Coote – North Queensland Cowboys (3)
Davie Dixon – Keighley Cougars (0)
Luke Douglas – St Helens (8)
Liam Faughlan – Maitland Pickers (0)
Dale Ferguson – Huddersfield Giants (14)
Ben Hellewell – London Broncos (15)
Liam Hood – Leigh Centurions (7)
Ben Kavanagh – Hull KR (14)
Kane Linnett – North Queensland Cowboys (7)
Frankie Mariano – Featherstone Rovers (2)
Joe McClean – Gloucestershire All Golds (4)
Ryan Maneely – Rochdale Hornets (0)
Kieran Moran – Hull KR (0)
Will Oakes – Hull KR (0)
Brett Phillips – Workington Town (9)
Calum Phillips – Workington Town (5)
Scott Plumridge – Mittagong Lions (2)
Sheldon Powe-Hobbs – Northern Pride (1)
Matthew Russell – Warrington Wolves (8)
David Scott – Batley Bulldogs (13)
Lachlan Stein – Penrith Panthers (0)
Oscar Thomas – London Broncos (6)
Lewis Tierney – Wigan Warriors (3)
Adam Walker – Wakefield Trinity (14)
Alex Walker – London Broncos (3)
Jonathan Walker – Darlington Point Roosters (6)
Peter Wallace – Penrith Panthers (4)
Joe Wardle – Newcastle Knights (6)
Brandan Wilkinson – Bradford Bulls (0)

Photo: Rovers quartet receive Scotland call-up